V BNDES International Piano Competition – 2016

Tribute to Lucia Branco and Camargo Guarnieri

November 30 - December 10, 2016

Sole sponsor
Daniel Ciobanu is the winner of V BNDES International Piano Competition of Rio de Janeiro.

November, 2012

Backstage photo gallery

Check III Competition backstage photo gallery.

Check also pictures of the III Competition opening concert.

Opening Concert photo gallery

Check the photo gallery of the III BNDES International Piano Competition opening concert, on November 25, at Theatro Municipal.

New schedule for the Semifinal Round I

The candidates below will play on December 1st  - BNDES Theatre – 3 p.m.






The candidates below will play on December 2nd – BNDES Theatre – 3 p.m.





Jury announces semi-finalists

The Jury has just announced the 8 semi-finalists of the III Competition. The selected pianists are:


Akihiro Sakiya (Japan)

Dongkyu Kim (South Korea)

Mikhail Berestnev (Russia)

Nino Bakradze (Georgia)

Ronaldo Rolim (Brazil)

Sun-A Park (USA)

Tamila Salimdjanova (Uzbekistan)

Yejin Noh  (South Korea)

(in alphabetical order)


The pianists will play again next Saturday and Sunday. Semi-final rounds will take place at BNDES Theater, from 3 p.m.. Admission is free!


Eliminatory Round – Candidates order of presentation

November 27

Mauricio Arias

Yejin Noh

Lei Meng

Desislava Bobrina

Dongkyu Kim

Natalia Tkachenko

Akihiro Sakiya

Mikhail Berestnev


November 28

Elisa D´Auria

Tuomas Kyyhkynen

Ronaldo Rolim

Fernando Altamura

Nino Bakradze

Aurèle Marthan

Sun-A Park

Tamila Salimdjanova


REPERTOIRE: each candidate will play a First movement Sonata by Mozart, an Etude by Chopin or Liszt and a composition of the candidate’s choice.

Free admission: eliminatory rounds start at 3 p.m. in BNDES Theatre (Av. Chile, 100 – Rio de Janeiro)

(Português) Alteração no calendário

Sorry, this entry is only available in Português.

III BNDES International Piano Competition of Rio de Janeiro

Between November 25 and December 8, 2012, the city hosted the III BNDES International Piano Competition of Rio de Janeiro, the largest competition of its kind in Brazil. Under supervision of pianist Lilian Barretto, the event gathered 16 selected pianists from 11 countries who competed for the R$ 215,000 in prizes. The winner Tamila Salimdjanova was awarded R$ 80,000 and perform concerts in Brazil, Europe and the USA. The sole contest sponsor is BNDES  (National Bank for Economic and Social Development) in partnership with the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra.

Check the winners.
Check the winner of the Jury Prize and the Best Performer of Brazilian Music.
Check the short biographies of Jury Members.
Check III Competition photo gallery. 

The 3rd. edition started with an opening concert on November 25 at Theatro Municipal, with guest pianist Sergio Tiempo. The Venezuelan performed with the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra under the baton of maestro Roberto Tibiriçá. The program includes Arcos Sonoros da Catedral Anton Bruckner by Almeida Prado and Concertos for piano and orchestra by Ravel and Tchaikovsky.

Throughout November 26, 27, 30 and December 1 and 4, preliminary and semifinal rounds took place in the BNDES Theatre. The final round and the competition closing took place on December 8 at Theatro Municipal, when three finalists performed with the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of conductor Ligia Amadio. Admission was free at all concerts and auditions.

The competition featured five events: Pre-selection, Preliminary Semifinals I and II, and Final rounds. In the Pre-selection round – consisting of the evaluation of DVDs forwarded by 91 candidates – the 16 pianists who took part in the Preliminary round were chosen. Following, eight pianists were selected for the Semifinal Rounds. Only three candidates was selected to the Final Round, and each one performed a Concerto for piano and orchestra.

Every edition of the competition pays tribute to a Brazilian composer and a Brazilian pianist. The 2012 edition honored pianist and composer Almeida Prado. His Cartas Celestes were performed by each of the eight semifinalists. In 2009, the honorees were Jacques Klein and Claudio Santoro. In 2010, the event paid tribute to Guiomar Novaes and Edino Krieger.

The winners were determined by a jury consisting of nine musicians of international recognition. The total prize pool was split into the following cathegories: R$ 80,000 for the first, R$ 55,000 for the second and R$ 35,000 for the third places, plus R$ 15,000 for the Best Performer of Brazilian Music, R$ 15,000 for the Almeida Prado Award, and, for the first time, a favorite candidate voted by the public whom was entitled to a R$ 15,000 prize.

The jury of the BNDES International Piano Competition featured renowed names from the international music scene. Frenchman Jean-Philippe Collard presides the jury, which also included pianists Antonio Pompa-Baldi, Francesco Libetta, Frank Levy, Gabriel Tacchino, Mikhail Voskresensky, Piotr Paleczny and Sergio Tiempo, plus Brazilian conductor Ligia Amadio.


Check Competition schedule 

(Português) Público escolherá seu candidato favorito

Sorry, this entry is only available in Português.

Concert opens the III BNDES International Piano Competition on November 25

The third edition of the BNDES International Piano Competition, with 18 pianists selected from 12 different countries, will open with a great concert at Theatro Municipal in Rio de Janeiro, on November 25. From 5 PM, the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra, conductor Roberto Tibiriçá and pianist Sergio Tiempo will open the events of the competition, which will run through December 8. The opening concert program includes Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Concerto #1, the Concerto in G Major by Maurice Ravel, and Arcos sonoros da Catedral Anton Bruckner by Almeida Prado, the composer honored by the competition this year. Admission to the concert is free, and tickets can be collected at the theater box office one hour prior to concert opening.

Check Sergio Tiempo performing the third movement of the Tchaikovsky’s Concerto under the baton of Gustavo Dudamel below.